Paper Floors???

Standard

Okay, so I hate the flooring in our basement…let me rephrase that…I LOATH the flooring in our basement.  It’s nasty carpet the previous, or possibly previous to the previous owner, put down.  Frankly, it’s toast.  It was toast when we moved in five years ago.  The carpet is still there even after our furry buddies accidents, Stevo and I dropping stuff on it, and a flooded basement.  This stuff is gross.  But being a new teacher, and definitely not making the money to replace it with anything fancy, we have been looking into cheap options.

So we’ve been thinking of painting or staining the floor.  Then I pulled up the carpet in one of the bedrooms and…wah wah wah…it’s got a lot of paint stains and going to take a ton of scraping.  I also wasn’t over joyed with the idea of having to cover everything with plastic to acid etch the floors.  Staining started looking very messy.

We were seriously thinking about asking my folks to help us out with new flooring, because I can’t live with the carpets much longer.  Then I came across a post where someone used brown craft paper on the floors.  At first I thought these people were crazy.  But the more I saw the more I loved it.  There are a few things I love about this project.  It’s cheap, like dirt cheap.  We’re talking about between $0.30 and $0.50 a square foot.  It’s also something I can do with out Steve’s help.  Not that Steve isn’t handy, because he is.  He’s way handier than I am on every level, but it means I can work on a long weekend while Steve is at work.    The last part I love is that it looks like a cross between leather and stained concrete.  It actually is gorgeous.  We’ve got a little bit of prep work to do, like painting walls, moving furniture, ripping out carpet, all the fun stuff.  But I’m thinking we could have new floors before the end of the year.  I’ll keep you all posted.

Leave a comment