Freezer Cooking Update

Standard

It’s Sunday again and I’m getting ready for this week.  So I thought I would update you on my results with freezer cooking.  Last week was a great cooking week, with only a few small problems.  So I was able to make chili cheese quesodillas in 10 minutes, just a little longer than it takes to nuke a tv dinner, and they were so good!!!  I was really pleased with how easy it was to just pull out a few items and get dinner done in a flash.  I did wind up getting take out once, which worked out well because my husband used the ground meat for pasta sauce.  The other problem I was we ran out of a few items, and Steve had to go to the store on Tuesday to pick up some more cheese.  All in all it worked for my household, but I did learn a few key things this week…

Always tell who ever you share the kitchen with the plan.  Make sure he or she is actually paying attention.  We had a bit of a screw up that was my fault.  I tried to tell Steve about the freezer cooking plan when he was otherwise occupied.  So he really didn’t get what I was telling him.  I pulled out a pound of browned meat last week with the intention of using it that night.  Well, he decided to make some pasta sauce with it, and didn’t remember that I’d made several servings of pasta sauce and they were sitting in the freezer.  Ops.  Oh well, it worked out alright.

This weeks plan is kind of similar, except instead of making chili, which I still have a few meals in the freezer, I’m making shredded BBQ chicken.  This morning I threw about 6-8 frozen boneless breasts in the crock pot with a bottle of BBQ sauce, turned it on high and hopefully by this evening I can shred it, pop it into bags and freeze part of it.  I’m also going to brown a few more pounds of ground meat and make a few more pasta sauces…I’ve got an open container in the fridge from Steve, and I don’t want it to go to waste.  I also am going to try a new recipe this week for peanut chicken and noodles that I think my shredded chicken will be tasty in.

Yummy…

Leave a comment